Art, oil painting, Painting, Sketching, watercolor

Painting struggles and Strawberry

I’ve been continuing doing little still life oil paintings. I’ve limited my palette to force myself to learn more about mixing colors. I’ve always been lazy about that. My current palette includes Titanium White, Ivory Black, Ultramarine Blue, Pthalo Blue, Cad Red Med, Cad Red Light, Alizaron Crimson, Cad Yellow Light, Indian Yellow, Yellow Ochre and Paynes Gray.

I’ve always loved and depended on Sap Green but I’m mixing all my greens now. It’s pretty challenging to get exactly the color I’m after. Other colors I’m missing are Prussian Blue, Burnt Sienna and Burnt Umber.

The other thing I’ve always struggled with in studio painting is lighting. I like to have fairly dramatic light on the subject but that makes it difficult to light the canvas and palette. I’d appreciate hearing how others have solved this problem.

I did this little postcard this morning to write a note to a friend.

Strawberry postcard

8 thoughts on “Painting struggles and Strawberry”

  1. Lovely work on your strawberry.
    I love oil paints too and I can only say what works for me – I have seperate lighting on my still life and then I have lighting on my ccanvas and palette. I wouldn’t be able to work if I didn’t have lighting on my canvas too. Hope that helps a bit.
    Good luck…look forward to seeing more of your work!
    Ronell

    Like

  2. Ronell, thanks.

    Sorry, I didn’t explain my dilemma very clearly. My problem is keeping the light on my canvas and palette from polluting the subject.

    Like

  3. I’ve seen someone using a “lightbox” for that purpose. That’s in fact a box (carton?) with just one side open (the front to be precise). To get really dramatic lighting there was only a little square cut out on the side to let the light in.
    Ahh.. my english is to bad to explain that. Just google for “lightbox”, there should be something …

    Like

  4. Bill, this is very well done. Wish i could give you some advice about light and color, but i don’t know the first thing about them. I’ll just content myself with looking at your art and seeing that the light is very well rendered.

    Like

  5. I’ve stumbled into your blog. What beautiful work you do! I do love this strawberry and only wish i was the recipient of such a work of art! Will come back to visit often!

    Like

  6. France and mARTA, Thanks so much for your comments. I’ve enjoyed both your blogs very much.

    Martin. It was nice of you to tag me. I’ve posted my seven things on the group site but I’m afraid I’m going to decline your invitation to tag others. Thanks for visiting and including me in the game.

    Like

  7. Renate,

    I understand what a lightbox is. Your English is very clear and that’s a good idea. I will give it a try.

    Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

