Art, oil painting, Painting, Sketching

Oil Sketches

Two of the oil sketches I’ve been working on have dried enough to scan.

Apple and Ivory Soap

They are about 6 by 8 inches on gessoed paper using the limited palette of colors I mentioned before. My goal is to work as quickly and loosely as possible not worrying about anything but making a convincing painting of an apple or bar of soap or whatever the object is. Easier said than done.

Netty Pot and Geranium (oil)

These are looking pretty fussy to me. I always think I should be able to do something like this in like 3 or 4 brushstrokes. Practice, practice, practice …

3 thoughts on “Oil Sketches”

Leave a Reply

