Art, oil painting, Still Life

Plumber’s Blue Glue – 60 minute oil study – year end assessment

.

Plumber’s Blue 60 min study

6″ x 6″ oil on canvas

Continuing with quick studies, this is a can of PVC glue and a pear. I was trying to think of something this could be a metaphor for but, the fact is, I only chose the objects for the colors.

*******

This may be the last post I make this year so some summing up is in order. I started this blog this year in March after stumbling across Russell Stutler’s website documenting his sketches of Tokyo. Over the year I’ve posted 85 paintings and sketches. I filled 4 sketchbooks including a travel journal. I did my first plein air oil paintings, joined a plein air painting group, attended 2 workshops, participated in 2 World Wide Sketchcrawls and began attending a life drawing group.

I’ve become acquainted with quite a few brilliant, generous and encouraging artist/bloggers and learned from and watched them grow as artists with great pleasure.

I began this blog, after a long hiatus from art making, thinking that I would use it to support myself in developing a habit of sketching. That mission has been accomplished. (I feel naked if I go out without a sketchbook now.) It’s gone far beyond that though, as I’ve started to include oil painting and other media and making art has again become a very large part of my life, as I had always intended it to be.

Looking over my work, it’s clear to me that I’ve grown substantially as an artist and, most importantly, since it’s the point of all this for me, I had a blast doing it all.

Thank you to all the artists and art lovers who’ve visited and taken the time to leave a comment or suggestion and to all the artists sharing their work and enthusiasm. I’m excited about what next year will bring.

Happy (and please, a more peaceful) New Year to all!

8 thoughts on “Plumber’s Blue Glue – 60 minute oil study – year end assessment”

  1. This has been a great year for you, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed viewing the work you have posted.

    Love the red with blue glue.

    Have an even better 2008!

    Like

  2. It’s BLUE GLUE!! I didn’t even know there was such a thing! Hahaha! That is just excellent. Congratulations, Bill, on a VERY successful year, and an even better year to come. I am so grateful for the camaraderie of the online art community, talented and generous artists like yourself. 2008 is going to rock.

    Like

  3. This is one of my favorite blogs – I’m amazed that you’ve only had it such a short time. I hope you have an equally productive year in 2008. And I hope too that 2008 will be the beginning of a more peaceful era.

    Like

  4. Thanks Vivien, Jenny, Kathy, Casey and Ronell. It has been a good year and I appreciate your coming by and encouraging me.

    Kathy, I had to name it that after my flubbed comment on you blog.

    I’m anxious to see what we all do this year.

    Like

  5. Hi there, I stumbled on your blog when looking for nice gouache paintings and have been so impressed by your work and progress. I’ve been inspired by Russ’s sketches for years now but it’s your blog that’s made me realise that maybe I can do it too. Keep it up, and I think you’ve gained a regular reader 🙂

    Like

  6. Mel, I’m flattered by being compared to Russ. He was one of my primary inspirations for starting back in with drawing and painting. I visited your blog and am very impressed with your fiber skills. I’m very happy to know you’ll be visiting. I hope you’ll continue to let me know what you think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

