Art, Daily Painters, oil painting, Painters, Painting, Still Life

Copy of Horned Melon after J. Matt Miller

.

 

horned melon copy-2

study after J. Matt Miller – 6″ x 8″ oil on canvas

Sometimes I like to do copies of paintings I admire as a way of studying technique. I generally try to keep my work loose and broadly painted partly because I like that kind of work but also because when I try to take my paintings to a higher level of finish, they often fall apart.

I’ve admired the daily paintings of J Matt Miller since I became aware of daily painting blogs. Matt has the ability to reach a high degree of finish while preserving loose brushwork and he has a really beautiful sense of color that makes his paintings glow like jewels. I don’t own many oil paintings, besides my own, but I do own one of Matt’s that I got as a Father’s Day gift last year. It’s titled “Horned Melon” and the study above is a copy of it. You can see the original on Matt’s May 18th blog entry here.

It was really fun to do this, especially since Matt solved all of the problems for me. To see some really masterful still life painting, visit Matt’s Daily Life Painting blog.

8 thoughts on “Copy of Horned Melon after J. Matt Miller”

  1. Ambera, Thanks for your encouragement. I’m a fan of your work. I’d be pleased to have my blog included in your links.

    Like

Leave a Reply

