Art

distraction

I’ve not picked up a brush or looked at a blog in a month or so. Below is a shot of the space I’d been using as a studio. It’s suffered some water damage and it’s going to be a while before I get it put back together. I do have another space I sometimes paint in but it’s not heated and is now full of whatever was in the space pictured below. My plein air kit is buried in there as well. I appreciate the support of visitors and hope to be back to painting in the not too distant future.

11 thoughts on “distraction”

  1. Bill- you’ve been missed. Probably the best thing to do is what you’re doing. Get your personal things back in order and then you’ll be in better spirits for creative jaunts.

    Without details, and not knowing specifics, whatever you’ve experienced looks like it gave you a miserable time.

    I hope you can re-create order and serenity soon.
    Will look forward to your next post.

    Take good care,

    Like

  2. I’ve been missing you and your wonderful paintings as well. I hope you can get your space back to where it was soon!

    Like

  3. Bill,
    I want to apologize profusely for the way my last comment sounded. I didn’t intend to be so insensitive. I didn’t read your post carefully enough and jumped to the thought that if you can’t paint inside go outside. So sorry. It’s not that easy, is it?

    It must be so disheartening to have your supplies buried under all that debris. I hope you have someone to help you put that room together again. Hope to see you back soon.

    Sil-

    Like

  4. Silvina, You’re a very funny person. I didn’t take any offense at your wise crack, and, of course you’re right, if I weren’t so lazy I could dig out my paint box and work outside. I’ll be sorry when the rains come and that I didn’t to that. I’m just a little too occupied at the moment to push myself to do that. It is frustrating not to be able to paint, but it’s also true that I’m usually so preoccupied with painting that I let house maintenance go.

    Bonnie, Thanks for the sympathetic words. I may have made this seem more dramatic than it is. Aside from preventing me from being able to paint easily, it’s just an inconvenience.

    Hi Frank, I made the mistake of pulling up a carpet I laid 15 years ago in a finished basement area where I paint and, as these things usually go, discovered some water stains which led to discovering a rotted base plate in the wall framing which led me to pull down the entire wall, which revealed to some suspicious wiring, etc, etc.

    Hi Casey, It’s going to take a while to put this back together right but I hope it’s not too long. I really appreciate your continued encouraging comments.

    Like

  5. Ugh! How awful. I’m sorry to hear about the series of problems. Isn’t that just how it goes! I hope when you’re done your new refreshed space will bring you lots of joy and wonderful new paintings!

    Like

  6. Hi Bill !

    Wow! ..Some job you made for yourself. Glad to read that there is now some sort of light at the end of that construction tunnel.
    It will be nice to see you back painting, plein air or otherwise, Bill. Good luck !

    To you and yours,
    Take care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

