Sketchbook Artists, Sketching, Still Life, watercolor

Salt

I’ve been spending more time drawing than painting lately. I’ve been re-inspired by one of the people who first turned me on to sketching, Russell Stutler. He has an amazingly wonderful site.  Something new there, since last time I visited, is his book on sketching. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in urban sketching.

Salt-Shaker

I’ve been working on reducing my blood pressure without using drugs. For about a year, I was taking a drug to control my BP and it made me sick, coughing and tired all the time. When my Dr recommended I switch to another drug that would slow my heartbeat, I decided to see if making some changes in my life could eliminate the need to take BP drugs. I’ve increased my cardio exercise and tightened up my diet. The biggest change to my diet has been a drastic reduction of salt. My BP has gone from around 140/90 to around 115/65 in about 3 or 4 weeks. I don’t know if it’s related to the BP drop or perhaps the increased cardio, but my resting heart rate has also dropped several beats as well.

Thanks to the wonderful painter, Kathryn Law for the inspiration and information to do this.

13 thoughts on “Salt”

  1. Bill, thank you. I am so proud of you! It’s really empowering, isn’t it? Taking control and doing these good things for yourself, which will benefit you in countless ways. Keep up the good work.

    This is a lovely sketch! I just took a look at Russell’s site too. That does it, I’m getting a sketchbook. Your sketches have always inspired me, as have those of Jana Bouc http://janabouc.wordpress.com/ .

    Like

  2. Wonderful sketch, Bill – glad to know you’ve been doing a lot of drawing and painting, as I’m a pretty big fan. Good for you for taking your health into your own hands, too!

    Like

  3. Good for you Bill – and an inspiration to the rest of us who would also benefit from more exercise and a healthier diet. Suttler’s is an amazing artist. Thanks for the link.

    Like

  4. Hello Bill,
    Really nice to meet you last month. I enjoy your blog – and work – and thoughts. Thanks for sharing. Great news about your BP. Oh, and the rich colors on your dumpster painting – definitely not ‘for the dumpster’ – dazzled my eyes. Lovely Lovely!

    Like

  5. Hi Kathryn. Thank you!. You really provided a lot of support for getting off the BP drugs. Welcome back home!

    Casey, thanks for continuing to check in on me.

    Hi Sharon. I’m glad you checked Russell’s site. Visiting his site always makes me want to pack my sketch kit and head downtown.

    Megha, thanks for the kind words

    Thanks Bill

    Thanks Lucie, and congratulations on your recent prizes. The portraits are wonderful.

    Hey Shawn. It was great to finally meet you as well. I’ve been thinking about you and the trade you mentioned. Still interested in trading?

    Like

  6. Bill,
    I’m glad you’re controlling your health and it’s working… Good to know that we can make these changes in our body and mind without drugs.

    I look forward to seeing your future work.

    Like

  7. Hi Marian, I’m feeling great about getting off the drugs. Work, however is killing me and I’m really struggling to find time to paint. I’m looking forward to seeing my future work as well 🙂

    Thanks very much for checking in on me.

    Like

  8. Hi Bill. I’m not sure if I seen you on Russells sketching forum or not, Ive been on it for a while. Nice sketches!!

    Noticed you dropped your blood pressure. Excercise is a key to staying healthy, keep it up.

    ~Kirby

    Like

Leave a Reply

