Art, oil painting, Painting, Still Life

Rescue Remedy

.

6″ x 4″ oil on paper

I painted this little study as a birthday gift for a friend. (I won’t mention her name because she doesn’t like having her name associated with an image on the internet.)

Rescue Remedy is a Bach Flower Remedy . It’s  “aimed at treating stress, anxiety, and panic attacks, especially in emergencies” (Wikipedia). It’s not clear to me whether it really works or not but I like the concept.

The rose hip in the bottle is also something that has historically been used for healing and preventative medicine. This one is from a Rugosa rose in our garden, which produces magnificent, cherry sized hips.

Happy Birthday, Friend.

10 thoughts on “Rescue Remedy”

  1. Nice one Bill. Seems like you’re busting out on these still life setups–the handling and color feels really unforced and “right” to me.

    Like

  2. Lovely! Think this painting might be better balm than the actual remedy itself 🙂 — I’ve tried it too and I agree, not sure if it works — but it’s a nice idea.

    Like

  3. Hi Casey, It’s really nice to hear from you. Thank you for the compliment and Happy Holidays.

    Suma, thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it.

    Ronell, I always love hearing from you. I have definitely felt better after using Rescue Remedy. It doesn’t matter if it’s all in my head. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

    Like

  4. Hi Bill –

    I love this little rose hip-in-a-bottle painting. Also the Red Dumpster (NW 14th and Quimby).
    Thank you for the kind words about my painting “On The Flyway.”
    I hope to meet you while out painting this season!

    Like

  5. Hi Bill. I am trying to be a painter and every now and then I peruse the web looking for inspiration and I was lucky enough to stumble upon your web site and beautiful paintings! I love your approach to still life and your plein air paintings. I joined your blog and look forward to seeing more of what you are doing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

