Art, Landscape, oil painting, Painting, Portland, Urban Landscape

Deserted Parking Lot at Night

.

8" x 10" Oil on Panel

This tree stands alone in a parking lot in NW Portland and looks somewhat surreal in the artificial light from surrounding signs. The old Montgomery Ward building, now Montgomery Park, behind the tree is a NW Portland landmark.

This was painted on a masonite panel prepared with Gamblin Oil ground that I sanded lightly before beginning the painting. It’s a very slippery surface to paint on and the sanding only helped a little.

.

4 thoughts on “Deserted Parking Lot at Night”

  1. Hello Bill:
    Happy New Year to you. By accident I ran into your sketches and they have made my day. I love your work, loose and to the point. You are doing beautiful work. Congratulations. Herb.

    Like

  2. Oh, I LOVE this bill…it is really surreal and I can clearly perceive that lonely dark ominous feeling. Great work!
    Ronell
    BTW. Your surprise to me is still with Laura…she had a difficult year last year, but as long as it is with her, it is safe and I will get it some time when Hartman goes that way again…looking forward to it and I will let you know
    R

    Like

Leave a Reply

