Animal Painting, Figure Painting, Interior, oil painting, Painting

Figure study with dogma

.

10″ x 8″ oil on panel

.

dog·ma/ˈdôgmə/

Noun: A principle or set of principles laid down by an authority as incontrovertibly true.

I’ve been thinking about dogma, lately. Probably as a result of 12 years of Catholic education, I have a low tolerance for it, and it’s a pet peeve of mine when it creeps into discussions regarding art.  I usually try to steer clear of discussions that make my dogma alarm go off but sometimes I don’t catch myself and I’m usually sorry.

I was thinking about this study as a kind of personification of dogma but I can’t decide what to put on the end of that scepter-like thing.

5 thoughts on “Figure study with dogma”

  1. a very cool painting…I assume the face in the torso is intentional. The royal stick thing needs a fish on the end of it. (kidding).

    Like

  2. Oooops…that’s my alter ego, Berndatte. Damn cookies. Well, both Berndatte and I like this painting. 🙂

    Like

  3. I did not see the face in the torso, so it wasn’t consciously intentional. I thought of a fish but I don’t know what that would have to do with dogma. Maybe a dog head, or is that too much dog?

    Like

Leave a Reply

