Plein Air to studio

In my last post, I wrote about a plein air painting session on Sauvie Island. I started a second painting, while I was there and have been playing with it in the studio since then. I tried to push it in the direction I’ve taken other paintings, lately by indulging in a similar kind of mark making. I think I took it a bit too far, to the point where the scene was lost to the marks.

9″ x 12″ oil on linen panel

So, I decided to walk it back a bit and ended up with this:

I like the composition and seem to be convinced that there’s a painting in here, somewhere but have not found it yet. I decided to leave it alone for a while but, taking up some gouache I found myself at it again.

Sometimes I have an idea of what I think a painting should look like and I have to let go of it and allow it to be what it is.

0 Responses to “Plein Air to studio”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 852 other followers

My Other Blog

Sketchbook Meditations


Paintings of Western Ireland

Older Oil Paintings

Costa Rica Travel Journal

My Costa Rica
CR Journal 1

Sketch Journal 

May 2012
« Apr   Jun »
Add to Technorati Favorites


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers

