Shipyard At Sunset


"Shipyard" 33" x 44" oil on linen

“Shipyard” 33″ x 44″ oil on linen


This is a scene at the Vigor Industrial Shipyard on Swan Island in Portland. I’ve had fun experimenting with different ways of applying paint. I used a brayer, strings soaked in paint, spatula, various knives, a whisk broom, etc. I did not use brushes very much on this piece.


I’ve been painting larger pieces on linen tacked to my wall. I leave a 4″ border around it for attaching it to stretcher bars.  Once I get to this point, the border becomes distracting and I need to take it down and stretch it to really see what it looks like and to make sure the image fits the stretcher properly. I may change it after it’s stretched.

6 Responses to “Shipyard At Sunset”

  1. 1 Howard Collier
    December 20, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    I’m sorry this may sound cliché but this work is absolutely wonderful.

    Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2012 20:51:57 +0000 To: howardcollier@hotmail.com

  2. 2 Kathy Gore-Fuss
    December 20, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    Very nice painting!

    Very nice post!
    :-) K


  3. 3 Dan
    December 21, 2012 at 8:15 am

    You fixed the channel to the railing! The touch of red helps define that plane. Great changes…

  4. 4 Bill Sharp
    December 29, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Thank you very much, Howard. I enjoyed seeing the drawings on your Fine Art site. I believe that’s new, isn’t it?

    Thanks, Kathy. I’m pleased you approve :)

    Thanks, Dan. It was helpful to talk about it, when you were here.

  5. February 10, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    This picture is very beautiful and glowing.

  6. 6 rob leach
    April 9, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Fantastic work love the effectof light
    Rob leach artist in kent england

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 848 other followers

My Other Blog

Sketchbook Meditations


Paintings of Western Ireland

Older Oil Paintings

Costa Rica Travel Journal

My Costa Rica
CR Journal 1

Sketch Journal 

December 2012
« Nov   Jan »
Add to Technorati Favorites


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 848 other followers

