Cows at Coon Point (ala Roos Schuring)

I went out painting with a friend last week and came across a small herd of cows lounging in the sun. They were the same type of cows that I often see in Roos Schuring’s paintings. She’s a fantastic painter in Holland. I wrote about her back in Aug 2012.

Check out her site here.

So I decided to see if I could paint these cows ala Roos Schuring.

Cows at Coon Point 9"x12" oil on linen panel

Cows at Coon Point
9″x12″ oil on linen panel


10 Responses to “Cows at Coon Point (ala Roos Schuring)”

  1. October 26, 2013 at 9:32 am

    Epic and so organic and natural – LOVE THIS!

  2. 2 Katharine
    October 26, 2013 at 10:43 am

    I guess this is called “evocative” of cows … and of the pastoral mood. Lovely! P.S. I LOVE GETTING A PAINTING IN MY INBOX. Thank you so much for doing the work of making a blog.

  3. 3 cathleen rehfeld
    October 26, 2013 at 11:00 am

    very nice job of channeling Roos. I like yours, they look like yours, inspired by Roos.

  4. October 26, 2013 at 11:39 am

    Bill that is superb!

  5. October 27, 2013 at 5:31 am

    This is really lovely – The green/yellow with the black and white of the cows is very striking and fresh.

  6. October 27, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    I love your painting & your cows. Very charming! Thanks for introducing me to Roos S.

  7. October 27, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    oh my….these are great cows! I really love them against that lovely green.

  8. 8 Bill Sharp
    October 30, 2013 at 7:41 am

    Thanks, everyone. I’m glad the painting came off as mine. Roos liked it as well.

  9. 9 editionh
    November 14, 2013 at 10:12 am

    I agree with all others. This is definately a major breakthrough in the artistic depiction of cows :).
    Looks great, awesome color treatment.

  10. 10 Bill Sharp
    December 2, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    Much appreciated, editionh

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 852 other followers

My Other Blog

Sketchbook Meditations


Paintings of Western Ireland

Older Oil Paintings

Costa Rica Travel Journal

My Costa Rica
CR Journal 1

Sketch Journal 

October 2013
« Sep   Nov »
Add to Technorati Favorites


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers

